Being Content: Intro

Have you ever felt as if you need to compare yourselves with others? Maybe you question why God has you where you are and wonder when this will change? Do you wonder if you will ever truly be satisfied with what you have because you can’t leave a store without purchasing something?

I have been there and continually still struggle in this area. In fact, I have come to realize that the area of contentment is battle in which I always find myself in. In the past weeks, I have felt God leading me to talk about this issue because it is such a large part of my life and that desire has been confirmed by various conversations! So in the near future, I will have three posts on contentment and the fruit and joy it brings to free us to serve God who and as we are. The posts will be entitled: Being Content with who I am, Being Content with where I am, and finally Being Content with what I have.

As an encouragement, please listen to the words in which Timothy wrote:

‘Now there is great gain in godliness with contentment’
-1 Timothy 6:6 (ESV)

Wow, that is motivation for me! When we are content, we gain godliness and an understanding of God! So please join me as I evaluate my heart in this area.

2 Comments

  1. Judy said,

    August 12, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    Becca, I am anxious to read more about what you have to say, and what wisdom God has given you (and all of us, if we read His Word) to deal with this issue. And trust me, it is not only teenagers who struggle with such issues. Paul also has great wisdom for us in this regard in his letter to the Philippians.

    Look forward to hearing more…

  2. innominables said,

    August 13, 2008 at 5:54 pm

    Judy,

    Thank youf or your comment!!! I hope you are doing well!!!!

    I am excited for it and just praying for the words to come to me.

    Becca
    for the innominables


Leave a Reply

