Being Content: Who I Am

“For we are His workmanship, CREATED IN CHRIST JESUS for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in him.” -Ephesians 2: 10 (ESV)

I often tend to compare myself to others. Whether that would be in body image, popularity standing, nicer clothing, personality, or even godly character that someone has that I desire so much that it becomes an idol. All of these things have been true in my life and continue to be although I am being gradually sanctified in the process.

At a recent, small group meeting, my dad shared on this sin and how “comparing is evil”. Now please don’t take this as saying that comparing is the worst sin. All sin is equal and each sin has a different consequence for it. But, I do think it is important to highlight that my dad is right! It doesn’t take much to let comparison overtake your life.  This sin is a matter of questioning why God has made me WHO, HOW, and WHY I am! It is a deeper issue, a issue of the heart. I am desiring at that moment to be someone other then the person that God has created me to be. This is the way that my sinful heart has a tendency to lead towards.

So, how can we be content with who God has made us to be? By remembering the words that God spoke to us though the prophets over many years.

” For you formed my inward parts; you knitted me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” Psalm 139: 13-14

Look again at the verse that I put on the top of this post. We are created to bring God glory though the good works we do.

Beware of legalism in this area, as it is easy to get snatched into! We are forgiven not because of this “good works” or anything that we did or do. We are forgiven because God sent his one and only son Jesus to die and bear the penalty of our sins on the cross!

If we are focused on being someone else then we are not being who God created us to be and that DOESN’T bring him glory! In fact, when we compare, we rob God of the glory that He deserves. God planned our creation before THE FOUNDATION OF THE WORLD! God made us who we are for a reason and purpose.

This is a large challenge to myself as I fight legalism and the sin of comparison! Please join me as I continue to look at the motive behind this sin that is in my heart.

May God give each and everyone of us grace as we live to be content and trust in who God created us to be!

5 Comments

  1. Kira said,

    August 15, 2008 at 8:41 pm

    Sorry I haven’t left a comment sooner!

    What a great idea to do this blog. The name is really cool. 🙂 You guys have some great posts! Keep it up!!

    Can I add you to my blogroll?

    In Christ,
    Kira

  2. Bronte said,

    August 16, 2008 at 12:51 am

    Sure you can add us.

    Thanks for your comment!

    Bronte
    For the Innominables

  3. Thaxton said,

    August 16, 2008 at 5:16 pm

    Wow,thanks that will help me in the future.I wish I was as smart and dillegent as you guys then I could have a blog but no,oh well I’ll just read every one elses comparing myself to you(haha).

    Thaxton

  4. innominables said,

    August 16, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    Thaxton,

    Thank you for your comment and for applying what was said in the post to your life! 🙂

    In all seriousness………that really did make me laugh! Thanks for reading and commenting!

    Have a great afternoon.

    Becca
    for the Innominables

  5. Fred said,

    October 7, 2008 at 4:29 am

    great blog!!! really convicting.


Leave a Reply

