Little Red Riding Hood

I’ve been thinking about Little Red Riding Hood a lot lately. Why you ask. Well, I’ve been listening to THIS musical a lot lately. J

 

In the classic story (which I’m sure you’re all familiar with, if not you need to have a serious talk with your parents), Red is given specific instructions by her mother. These instructions are to take some food to her Granny quickly, without day dreaming or straying off the path. Red then goes into the woods to deliver the food to her grandmother. On the way she meets a wolf and they have a conversation. Right there is her first mistake. Why does she talk to a wolf? Doesn’t a talking wolf seem just a little out of the ordinary?

 

As they talk, the wolf slyly starts to convince Red to leave the path and slowly pick flowers. In other words, he purposefully temps Red to disobey her mother. (If you haven’t gotten the hint: the wolf is very bad. He wants to eat Red and her grandmother.) Now what does Red do? She listens to him! She disobeys her mother and listens to a talking wolf who shouldn’t even be talking because, well, he’s a WOLF!

 

And so she wanders off the path. The wolf runs ahead to the Granny’s cottage and eats her. He dresses up in Granny’s clothes. And when gullible Red shows up she believes the wolf is her Granny and she gets eaten. Then a hunter comes and kills the wolf and rescues them.

 

As I think about this story I am reminded of my own fickleness. The wolf reminds me of the desires of my flesh and Red reminds me of myself. I am given instructions through God’s word on how to live my life. And I make the commitment to follow those with all my strength. But (sadly) as soon as my desire is to do something against the instructions given me, I’m tempted and far too often I give in.

 

This is the sad reality of sin. I’m a sinner. And as a sinner it’s hard to resist temptation. There’s no way I can do it on my own.

 

But here’s the beauty of the gospel. We don’t have to do it on our own. Once we have trusted in Jesus as our propitiation by His blood and believed that He’s our Lord and Savior we have been justified and forgiven of all our sins. This isn’t to say we don’t need to still fight against sin—we do. But God promises to help us in our time of need. Hebrews 4:16 says, “Let us then with confidence draw near to the throne of grace, that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.God promises to be with us! Even when I feel like I will never have victory over a specific sin I can remember 1 Corinthians 10:13 “No temptation has overtaken you that is not common to man. God is faithful, and he will not let you be tempted beyond your ability, but with the temptation he will also provide the way of escape, that you may be able to endure it.”

God is faithful. Because of Him temptations can be resisted and sin can be overcome. Saints rejoice! “

3 Comments

  1. Thaxton said,

    August 16, 2008 at 5:04 pm

    Hey big sis that was good that’s helpfull and true.And it’s a much better moral than “never stray from the path”(haha)

    Thaxton

  2. Delaine said,

    August 16, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    That is very encouraging, Bronte! I love seeing the Lord at work in your life in a personal way!!

    Love,
    Mom

  3. Bronte said,

    August 17, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    Thanks guys. You rock!!

    Bronte
    For the Innominables


Leave a Reply

