Being Content: Where I Am


” For I have learned in whatever situation I am to be content”
-Philippians 4:11b

I have always been in a hurry to grow up. As soon as I turned three and was ready to be four, when I turned four, I was ready to be five and so on. I have noticed that I am the same way as I am progressing through my teen years. I am always anxious to be older. There is nothing wrong with wanting to be older but, the problem is when I desire it too much. I am always so fixed on what is in the future that I don’t live with where God has placed me now.


My dream, Lord willing, is to get married to a godly man and have a family. The same thing applies here. There is nothing wrong with wanting to get married and have a family but, it’s when I desire it too much. Have you ever felt as if life will not go on if you don’t get married? I have! I look forward to getting married someday. But, I need to live to glorify God at where I am at now!


God, in His sovereign goodness, has not ordained for everyone to get married. He has given many, the responsibility of singleness, for some, several years, for others, decades, and some are single their entire life.


So now it comes to the application. “How can I live today and trust God for what his plans are for the future”? First, how can I live for today? I think we need to evaluate what God has called us to do at this present time. For myself, right now my responsibilities are: doing school, caring and being examples for my younger siblings, helping in my family, and serving and being a part in my church. Depending on your age, your responsibilities will be different. Whatever it is, this is our responsibility and calling at our present age. So lets work hard at these things for the glory of God.


Secondly, How can I trust God for the future? Prayer! Pray and ask God to help you trust him for his timing in everything. He may not answer in the way in which we expect but, He loves us and he does nothing that is not for our good! Another way is get to know the character of God. As you learn about the character of God, you will know why you can trust him.

2 Comments

  1. Judy said,

    August 28, 2008 at 10:57 am

    Thank you, Becca, for writing. You have a wisdom beyond your years, and I so appreciate you look to God and Scripture for the answers to these issues.

    Another way I have found to trust God for the future is to remember what He has done for me. I have recently begun to be aware of how many places in Scripture we can learn about the power of remembering, and the devastation that can result when we forget God and all that He has done. For instance, in Psalm 22, David is crying out to God those words that later were to spoken by Jesus on the cross, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?” And yet within several verses he finds comfort in remembering, “In You our fathers trusted; they trusted you and You delivered them. To You they cried out and were delivered; in You they trusted and were not disappointed.”

    So when I am tempted not to trust or to be anxoius for that which I do not have, I remember…

  2. innominables said,

    August 28, 2008 at 2:58 pm

    Judy,

    Thank you so much for your encouraging words!

    That is an excellent point. Remembering that God has been with me though all times and He will never leave or forsake His chosen. God has done amazing things!

    Becca
    for the innominables


Leave a Reply

