Bronte’s Picks

Besides the Bible I love the following;

Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis:

I love Narnia! Besides the Bible there is no book I have read that affects me so deeply. I feel God has brought me closer narnia_booksto Him through reading these books. They beautifully portray real life truths in a graceful, imaginative way. They are wonderful and a dear part of my growing up. And I’m not ashamed to say I actually cried as I read The Last Battle. “Further up and further in!”

 

The Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien:

Another fantastic seriese! In LOTR Tolkien clearly shows the difference between good and evil. It shows even in the 0395193958_01_lzzzzzzz1darkest of times there is still a glimmer of hope. Oh, and the movies are fantastic too!

 

Why Pro-Life by Randy Alcorn:

x88301I was definitly pro-life before I read this book but now I feel like I’m even more pro-life. Alcorn does a great job of defending the pro-life stand in short, easy to read chapters. Even thought I’m only 16, I found this book understandable. This book is for everyone, whether or not their pro-life.

 

The Holiness of God by R.C. Sproul:

God is holy. How often in our day to day life we forget this. It should not be forgotten! God’s holliness is nothing to be the_holiness_of_godtrifled with. It is awe-inspiring and powerful. It should take our breath away. This book is a worshipful expirience. As it takes us deeper into God’s holliness it inspires worship to our awesome Creature. This book is worth it’s weight in gold.

 

Other favorites include, Chosen by God (by R.C. Sproul), Leepike Ridge and 100 Cupboards (by N.D. Wilson), The Penderwicks (by Jeanne Birdsall), Pride and Prejudice (by Jane Austen), Little Women (by Louisa May Alcott), and anything written by Kate DiCamillo

Read away!

2 Comments

  1. April 16, 2009 at 10:59 pm

    I totally agree! Those are all GREAT books! My favourites list would probably be almost identical. 🙂

  2. Becca said,

    April 17, 2009 at 1:57 am

    Great post B!!! I really want to read “The Holiness of God” it sounds so good! I just need to put it on the top of my long list of books to read. It is so overwhelming because there are so many good books out there. It’s a good overwhelming though!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

