Worldliness: God, My Heart, and Stuff

imagesWelcome to the discussion on the fourth chapter of Worldliness: Resisting the Seduction of a Fallen World. To learn more about what this group is, click HERE. We also recently started a FACEBOOK page! Click HERE to visit this site. It is NEVER to late to join!! To join, send an email to innominables@gmail.com

I want to encourage all of you to not just read these questions and move on. Please take the time to answer them on paper and to prayerfully consider whether any of these things can apply to your life. So without further ado, here are the questions.

For Your Mind:

Q: Covetousness is a word we don’t often use in normal conversation. What does it mean?

A: Mr. Harvey describes covetousness as the following:

“Covetousness as a glutton for stuff. Through covetous attractions and distractions within the heart, our stuff takes on meaning in our lives far beyond what God intends. Covetousness is choosing earthly trinkets over eternal treasure.” -Dave Harvey

Q: How is it that we can be covetous whether we’re rich, poor, or anywhere in between?

A: It is humbling because no matter our financial status, we are always desiring more. I have seen this all too many times in my own life. When I don’t have any money, I covet. When I do have money, I covet as well. We will never be truly satisfied in life until we realize that we must be completely satisfied in Jesus Christ alone. When we are covetous, we are saying that Jesus is not enough to satisfy us. True to be told…He is enough, He is more than enough. We must seek to be satisfied in Him before we see a decreasing desire for things of this world.

Q: How does the gospel specifically speak to the bondage of covetousness and materialism?

A: When we have the truth of the Gospel, there is no room for condemnation, or guilt over sin. If you have been convicted over sin in ths area, don’t let you response be one of condemnation. The only right response is to worship God and glorify His name because we have been set free from sin’s power over us (Galatians 5:1).

For your Heart:

Q: Christ died to free you from loving stuff too much. What excites you about this truth? How should it influence our daily lives?

A: Knowing that even after confessing sin I will mess up again, it excites me to know that Jesus Christ shed His blood because I am sinful. So not only are my sins covered and paid for but, when the HOLY God of the universe looks at me, He sees the perfection of His Son. This is amazing truth. I am so unworthy of His critic let alone His love! It should influence my life if I daily die to myself, my desires, and my cravings and when I mess up I look and see my Savior who died for me. This will bring true and satisfying joy.

For the most of the rest of the questions, you guys can answer them on your own and remember to apply them and not just let it rest. Don’t be content with knowing…ACT!

Q: Describe a person you know who is regularly generous. How does this person reflect the eternal perspective of the gospel as he or she lets go of treasured possessions to benefit someone else? When was teh last time God was so big for you that you let go of tresured possessions?

Q: Are you giving regularly and generously to your local church? Describe why this is important to you, or what it is not your practice at present.

For Your Life:

Q: This chapter notes that when the gospel gets bigger, covetouness becomes weak. Reread John Owen’s quote on page 108. What does it mean to fill your affections with the cross and love of Christ?

A: I am going to put the quote below:

“When someone sets his affections upon the cross and love of Christ, he crucifies the world as a dead and undesirable thing. The baits of sin lose their attaction and disappear. Fill your affections with teh cross of Christ and you will find no room for sin.”

Q: When this chapter points out that embracing covetousness can be a private sin, but casting it off should be a group project project. Who will you enlist to cast off covetousness?

A: It is SOOOO important to have someone that will hold you accountable to sin and help you bring it into the light. If you are a teen, I highly suggest asking your parents to help you in this area. They see a us sin often and know us better than we sometimes know ourselves (Sin is deceptive!). Bronte and I just started our own accountablility time last month and this has already helped me.

Q: Parents, what steps can you take to train your children to share geneously with others?

A: Well, I don’t think we have many readers that are parents but, for those of you who are parents…I have no ideas for you! 🙂 I am sure that in your wisdom you can consult others for the answer.

Join us JUNE 5TH for a timely dicussion on the area of Modesty! Thanks for reading guys!

Leave a Reply

