Worldliness: A (Late) Conclusion

This has been a long time in coming but here is  the conclusion to our Worldliness book study.

Honostly, I went into this book with a  self-righteousness attitude. I didn’t think I was worldly. I dress modestly, I listen to good music, I watch good movies. But God humbled me with the relization that I have worldliness in my heart. When I desire to impress others with what I wear (even though it’s modest) that’s worldliness. When I desire to be in the world, when I desire to be like everyone else, that’s worldliness. Wow.

The good news is, God gives grace to fight sin. He will give me the grace I need (the grace we all need) to fight the remaining sin in our life, no matter how subtle it is. Praise God for this truth!

I don’t know how many of you read the book, but we hope you were helped and encouraged. We hope this study was a means of grace to you.

Thanks so much for your patience with us! 🙂

2 Comments

  1. Ben P. said,

    April 21, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    I found your blog through facebook when I looked up the book “Worldliness.” I have been reading it for the past week and a half and I concur; it’s life-changing.

    Before reading this book, I was able to sell a lot of my stuff in a hope to simplify my life and surroundings and focus on Christ more. I knew I still had idols that took the place as comforters in my life when I should go to God for comfort instead. After praying about it the Holy Spirit led me to a huge idol which sadly, is iced white mochas.

    This book has really shown me the real issue with more clarity. It’s not the objects, it’s my heart that needs to be kept in check. Proverbs 4:23 says: “Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.” My heart may not be bad anymore as I am a new creature in Christ Jesus, and I must not kill my heart, but to guard it I must!

    So 1 John 2:15-17 is a warning for all of us. We are hounded by the “World” every day. We too often thing it is all about us, and it’s not; it’s about HIM. I am so thankful for this book because it has shown me other areas and thoughts that are helping me fight the good fight against Worldliness. I have 2 chapters to go still and I plan to reread it all and then take important notes into my journal. Glad to see others learning from this amazing, Biblically accurate, book.

  2. innominables said,

    May 17, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    Thanks for your comment Ben! It was very encouraging. Idols can be the simplest things–even iced white mochas! Have a blessed week.

    Becca for the Innominables


Leave a Reply

