Summer Temptations: Laziness

Summer.

A time of freedom and endless possibilities. During the summer you have the time to do what you’ve always wanted to do (especially if you’re still in school!), pursue a new hobby, start a project, be outside, start a good book, try a new recipe, etc.

I make a lot of plans every summer. I have books to read, friends to hang out with, recipes to try, but how do I actually spend my summer? On facebook. Now, facebook is not wrong but it can (and should) be called the biggest time waster in human history. I spend more time than I should on FB (oh look, I even have a nickname for it, how cute!). Facebook can be a great way to stay connected with people and I believe it can be a great ministry tool. But, it can also be a means of distraction; a means of laziness.

I’ve come to realize that I’m a very lazy person. I like to be easy on myself. I don’t like stress, I like relaxation. Why start a project when I can just zone out on the computer?  Why read a book when I can go online and read the latest LOST article?

I have really been convicted of how much time I spend on my computer. Again, it’s not wrong to go on the computer, it’s not wrong to go on facebook, it’s not a sin to read the latest LOST article (thank God!) but these can all be sinful when I am using it to fuel my laziness.

I don’t want to waste my summer on the computer. I want to do things. The awesome thing is, God can give me the grace to lay down my laziness. He can give me the strength (and energy!) I need to do something. By God’s grace I can put aside my idol of comfort and pursue Him more and seek to serve others. All I need to do is ask.

I really want to look back on Summer 2010 and be happy with how I spent it. And by God’s grace that is completely possible.

1 Comment

  1. May 11, 2010 at 7:31 pm

    I have the SAME temptations (well, with the exception of the LOST article). Thanks for the reminder of God’s grace! I am now going to turn off my computer. 🙂


Leave a Reply

